Return to Headlines

Master Teachers Recognized by Board of Education

Several teachers from the Ballston Spa Central School District received praise and recognition from the Ballston Spa CSD Board of Education and school administrators after being selected for the New York State Master Teacher Program. The program is offered by the NYS Education Department to the highest performing science, technology, engineering and math teachers (STEM).

Recognized for being inducted this fall were Ballston Spa Middle School teachers Colin Klepetar and Christina Bisceglia as well as previously selected Middle School instructor Jeff Gargano. 

These teachers join the ranks of other previously selected Master Teachers from Ballston Spa including John Balet, Katie Calhoun, Shannon Hansen, Judith Selig, Ankie Meuwissen, Matt Glogowski, Katie Miller and Andrew Ferrone. 

“We are proud of these instructors as well as our other NYS Master Teacher recipients for their dedication and commitment to continuously improving their skills as a teacher and learner.” indicated Dr. Gianleo Duca, Interim Superintendent of the Ballston Spa Central School District. Further, “It is important for us to help create environments where teachers are comfortable and confident in exploring ways to continuously improve their craft. Supporting the NYS Master Teacher program is one way we can do this.”

The program creates a network of teachers and offers a number of professional development experiences to deepen teachers’ understanding of STEM content and the best methods of teaching their students in their particular communities. One of the duties of a Master Teacher is to share what they learn with colleagues here at Ballston Spa so they can enrich the learning of as many students as possible. The ultimate goal of the program is to attract students to STEM related careers.

Please visit the NYS Master Teacher Program website at for additional information.

221 NYS Master teachers to join statewide network of STEM educators – Saratogian

Pictured (left-right): Interim Superintendent Dr. Duca, Shannon Hansen, Katie Calhoun,
Colin Klepetar, Christina Bisceglia and BOE President Jason Fernau