English

  • English/language arts curriculum units and modules are aligned to the Common Core State Standards and support the six major instructional shifts. Students read a balance of literary and informational texts and build vocabulary to access grade level complex texts. Appropriately challenging texts are at the center of instruction as students read closely and utilize the texts to build knowledge. Text-based evidence from a variety of sources provides the foundation for writing and rich conversations.

    Grade

    Units/Modules

    Portfolio Writing
    Tasks

    6

     

     

     

    • Relationships
    • Hero’s Journey
    • Media in Our Lives
    • Genre Study: Folklore
    • Language Study
    • Spelling
    • Research-based Writing
    • Literary Analysis: Theme
    • Narrative: Short story
    • Argument: Position Paper

    7

     

     

    • Perseverance
    • Survival
    • Family
    • Rebellion and Conformity
    • Genre Study: Science Fiction
    • Language Study
    • Spelling
    • Research-based Writing
    • Literary Analysis: Conflict
    • Narrative: Memoir
    • Argument: Book Review

    8

     

     

    • Human Nature
    • Perspectives: WWII
    • History’s Impact
    • Genre Study: Mystery
    • Language Study
    • Spelling
    • Research-based Writing
    • Literary Analysis: Characterization
    • Narrative: Mood Development
    • Argument: Editorial

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    ENGLISH DEPARTMENT FACULTY

    Grade 6
    Mr. Lyons:  slyons@bscsd.org
    Mrs. Paley:apaley@bscsd.org
    Mrs. Summersell: ssummersell@bscsd.org
    Mrs. Varughese: tvarughese@bscsd.org
    Mrs. Wolsey: swolsey@bscsd.org

    Grade 7
    Mrs. Johnson: jjohnson@bscsd.org
    Mr. Shaver: jshaver@bscsd.org
    Mrs. Struffolino: lstruffolino@bscsd.org  Long term sub:  Mrs. Hinman:  lhinman@bscsd.org 

    Grade 8
    Mrs. Boncordo:  eboncordo@bscsd.org
    Mrs. Hughes: jhughes@bscsd.org
    Mr. McNulty: cmcnulty@bscsd.org

     

     

Related Files